On  18th March 2019, Decree No. 9,731 was published in the Official Gazette of the Union, which provides for a waiver of the visitor visa for nationals of USA, Canada, Australia and Japan who wish to enter Brazil.

Citizens of those countries wishing to visit Brazil will no longer need to apply or pay for a visa.

Such visa exemption will apply to those visitors arriving in Brazil for the purpose of tourism, business, transit, artistic or sporting activities or in exceptional situations by national interest, without intending to establish residence in the country. Such visitors may stay in Brazil for a period of up to 90 days, which can be extended for another 90 days, provided they do not exceed 180 days in a period of 12 months.

The new provision was enacted as a unilateral initiative of the newly elected President, Jair Bolsonaro, to strengthen ties with countries considered strategic to boost tourism in the country, as well as increase investment in the private sector. Brazil currently receives about 6.5 million foreign visitors per year. The Brazilian government’s goal is for this number to reach 12 million per year by 2022.

The new rule will enter into force on 17th June 2019. Therefore, until then, the electronic visa will continue to be required for visitors from these four countries.